Summer Break 2014 Recommendation Requests

Image

So as it happens, today was the day I graduated from high school and I’m…..still not sure how I should feel.  I mean, on one hand, it feels so liberating to be free from high school, preparing for the glorious world of college, and at the start of a long, beautiful, relaxing summer with a lot in store.  At the same time, however, I’m really gonna miss my friends and the other fabulous people I’ve met at school.  I never thought much about it, but my class was really amazing and had some of the greatest people I’ve ever met, and it’s sad to think I won’t be seeing some of them for a very long time, though I know they’re capable of great things and I’ll definitely be seeing the results of that in a few years.  Feelsy reminiscing about high school aside, however, the long summer vacation has arrived.  So what does that mean for you all?  Well, this shall be the first time that I ask for recommendations from everyone who is reading my blog.

As it happens, it’s become a bit of a custom among my group of friends that I’ll ask them for a recommendation for me to complete over the summer and, if they would like, for me to give them a recommendation as well.  This started off being exclusively anime and manga, but I’ve decided to open it up to other things as well (as it happens, some people have already given me Western TV shows, which should be quite interesting given I haven’t gotten into any in the longest time) so this is a fantastic opportunity for me to try new things and broaden my horizons.  I figured that I might as well open this tradition of mine up to friends on MAL and those following my blog as well.  Since I’m incredibly obsessive about finishing things and how I finish them, and often don’t find the time to get around to recommendations people give me, I’ve decided that summer will be THE time where I devote myself to this and allow people to give fabulous new series for me to try.  This may or may not be semi-suicidal as my list has already gotten pretty huge (the thought of watching through all of Fairy Tail on top of the great many other things I have to finish is…..well, scary to say the least) and then I’m asking you all for more now, which may not bode well for my slightly but not TOO busy summer.  My list is far from complete (and this might be bad for me later), but this is what I’ve got so far:

  • Avatar: The Last Airbender
  • Billy Bat
  • Gatchaman Crowds
  • Hamatora The Animation
  • Log Horizon
  • Nichijou
  • Princess Tutu
  • School Rumble (primarily S2, though there are also S1 OVA eps and the OVA conclusion I plan to watch)
  • Sherlock
  • The Last of Us

Of course, if it were JUST this, then it honestly wouldn’t be so bad.  Problem is, on top of this as well as whatever recommendations I receive in the future, I have carry-overs from my very short summer vacation last year.  A good majority of them shouldn’t be too difficult to complete, problem is the ones that are.  In particular, Baldur’s Gate II and the remaining Metal Gear Solid games (MGS2, MGS3, MGS4, and Peace Walker for the time being) seem like they’ll be incredibly time consuming, though I’ve heard both series are of the utmost brilliance with these and so I’m very hyped even if I find the time I will have to put into them incredibly daunting.  It should also be worth mentioning that with Anime Expo coming up, there are some series I will inevitably want to complete in order to prepare myself (particularly when it comes to concerts, where songs have much more impact once you’ve gone through the anime they come from), and those will likely take priority above anything else I’ve already mentioned, making my life and anime watching, well, even MORE complicated.  Sometimes I wonder why I do this to myself, but that’s that I suppose.  To be fair, I do have a very long summer (college won’t start for me until October, in fact) but I feel like it won’t be nearly as long as I’m leading myself to believe, and that could be a dangerous thing.

Anywho, with all of that said, please send me your best recommendations (only stuff I haven’t already seen, if I didn’t make that clear enough) of just about ANY story you can think of.  Please just one though, I can’t possibly manage to get through multiple recommendations from everybody and it would drive me insane.  To be honest, it’d be a lot easier on my life if the recommendations weren’t especially long (a recommendation of the One Piece anime would probably kill me, even if I would probably enjoy it all the same), but if there is a longer story that you really think is worth the payoff and that I’d love regardless, then go ahead and give it a shot.  Just as long as I really do enjoy it, I shouldn’t complain too much.

Image

  1. I currently addicted to Noragami.

    Teaser Trailer: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=w6xYIQ83gyQ
    Official Trailer: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Bo4T6wfylxM

    The anime is only 12 episodes long at the moment because it aired winter of 2013. The manga is very good too. I’m currently writing reviews for it on wordpress.

    And it has the most amazing soundtrack! It’s pretty similar in tone to Fairy Tail and Avatar with a nice balance between drama and humor, very character driven as well.

    • Awesome, I recall hearing that Noragami was one of the better series of winter 2013 so it’d be good to pick that up. Only one I watched from that season was Chuunibyou Ren, which I enjoyed a bit but was disappointed by in a lot of ways. Anywho, I’ll definitely be looking forward to Noragami, I imagine it’ll be a pretty enjoyable watch.

  2. I’m a yuri and slice of life guy as you know so there isn’t much I could recommend that would tickle your fancy. I suppose I could tell you to pick up Jojo Stardust Crusaders.

    The shows on your list and The Last of Us game already sound like good shows to keep you busy during the Summer.

    • As it happens I’m actually keeping up with Stardust Crusaders, which, by the way, is absolutely awesome. JJBA is awesome in general, I’ve been incredibly hyped about the SC anime adaptation for the longest time and so far it hasn’t disappointed. Gonna take a while for it to get through the great parts since part 3 is pretty slow compared to parts 1 and 2, but the latest episode is where the story starts to pick up so I’m really excited and I’m even more excited for all the new fans that haven’t already experienced the manga, it’ll definitely be quite a ride.

      And since I haven’t seen all too many yuri or slice of life stories, it wouldn’t be a bad time for me to try one out if you have an especially amazing one you think is worth a shot. Those aren’t my typical series but trying new things is definitely a good thing and I certainly wouldn’t mind expanding my fandom range and all. Even if I don’t enjoy it quite as much as you, it can’t hurt to try something.

      The list I have so far is definitely a pretty solid collection of stuff to tackle over summer though, there are a lot of things I’m pretty excited about and I can’t wait to try some of these out. Hopefully I can complete everything that ends up on my list before summer ends, if it was just this list that probably wouldn’t be a big problem but there are some other things I have to get around to as well so I’m hoping the next few months will be enough time.

  3. It may help if you have some genre preferences or something, but that Last of Us game is a good game to add to your backlog. If I were to add something there, perhaps you could try adding in GTA V as well. Those two games, as far as Western games are concerned, are few of the top games from last year xD

    Also on the LN side, if you haven’t read HakoMari, you should. One of my favorite LNs😀

    • Well I didn’t want to put specific genres in there since I felt that might be too limiting for what people recommend me. I think it’d be more interesting to just take whatever I get and see how it goes since there’d be more variety and whatnot. But yeah, a lot of people say The Last of Us is really good so I’m definitely looking forward to it, and I recall there was a lot of buzz about GTA V when it came out too, though I never actually played a GTA game before. And I still have yet to get to Hakomari, but I’ve heard a lot about how great it is and I noticed that it skyrocketed up the MAL rankings pretty quickly so I’m quite curious about it.

      Chances are I’ll be cutting it pretty close as far as completing this stuff in time once I get around to asking everybody so I should probably stick with just one for the time being, though maybe I’m just paranoid now and I might end up clearing the list faster than I expect. But anywho, which one do you think would be a bigger priority for me to get around to this summer?

      • What if people start recommending you hentai to watch, lol.

        I actually never played any GTA games before and GTA V is my first entry into the game. But I like it myself despite not really being a GTA veteran. Just to warn you that this is one of those huge open-world games which you might want to use a lot of time to play, and explore, since, I think exploring in an open-world is one of the greatest enjoyment out of these types of games. And I actually haven’t play Last of Us, lol. I only heard how good it is story and character-wise from various sites I read.

        Oddly enough, I’m restricting adding any LNs I had read to my MAL profile atm. It feels awkward how the novels are technically under the “manga” section, and aside from a few popular ones (and some others which already had anime/manga adaptions), there are still a lot of LNs not added into the database yet, so I was kinda hoping LNDB would just add a tracking system just like MAL does soon, so that I can finally have a “legit” LN list.

        But oh, I digress.

        About HakoMari, I bet it skyrocketed just as soon as it’s added into the database xD Anyway it’s a good time as any to read it, since the story’s actually nearing it’s end, the author himself basically said he will end the story by the next volume.

        If you mean your initial list, I would say you can start with Nichijou or School Rumble, both are pretty great and fun series. Log Horizon is also fairly new, which has almost the same settings as SAO, but executed in an entirely different way. I haven’t watch Princess Tutu, but heard that it’s also a pretty great series.

        Oh, watch Gintama, if you haven’t already xD Although since you have Fairy Tail to keep up on, you might want to get that done first (Gintama’s 200+ episodes).

      • Well that’s something I can worry about if it happens lol. xD I mean, for all I know there could be some revolutionary hentai story with amazing development or something, I’m hard pressed to imagine it but you never know. If someone were to say Boku no Pico or something then I wouldn’t go for it of course, though I’m hoping people will actually give me legitimate recommendations in the first place.

        Ah, well it’s good that it’s something newcomers can enjoy then. And it seems like it’d be pretty time consuming from that, looks like the type of game that’s most enjoyable going around doing whatever random stuff for a while as opposed to the typical plot-oriented ones (or at least games with a clearly defined goal early on) I’m accustomed to.

        I get what you mean, it is a bit strange to have them awkwardly bunched up with the manga, though I haven’t paid it much mind since I still haven’t read that many LNs. And I actually never knew there was an LNDB, if it had functions like MAL or VNDB I might be more inclined to use it. Of course, it’d help to actually have more than a lower-end single digit figure for LNs I’ve read to begin with. Guess I have a long way to go with those.

        Yeah it seems like it probably got high up the moment it was added, the first time I even knew it existed was when I saw how high a score it had, and even though it fluctuated up and down a bit, it never really left that top 20 or even 15 range so it’s gotta be something good. And interesting to hear it’s going to end, it’s definitely better when a series knows not to drag on too long, but I imagine it’ll be sad for the fans that the story’s concluding.

        Ah, well I was referring to whatever recommendation you wanted to give to me. So I guess you’re gonna go with Gintama then? That’s one I’ve been meaning to get to for the longest time and one I’ve been thinking may be my next 10/10 so I certainly wouldn’t mind if that’s your pick. Though it’ll be a struggle watching through it all since it’s looking to be the longest series on my list lol (I was actually recommended the TV series Friends, which is also very long but not quite Gintama level). As for what I’m gonna pick up first from this list, well Nichijou and Gatchaman Crowds are pretty much confirmed before anything else since I actually got those from Animenz and Ishter and I figure it’d be good to have watched them before July 3 (the day of Anipiano) so I can tell them what I thought about those series. I saw the first episode of Log Horizon already so I’ll probably be picking that one up soon as well. I’ll just have to see about the rest though, it’d probably drive me insane focusing on nothing but one series when it comes to the really long ones so I’ll have to balance it out with the others. There should be enough on that list so that won’t be a problem lol.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

